Bread · Gluten-Free

“The Dark Side” of bread

I love bread. I love kneading it, baking it and then finally eating it. It occupied many Saturdays during the winter when it was miserable outside. And it always lifted my spirits. Plus, it smelled phenomenal. I had gotten pretty good at it–mastering the consistency of the dough, the elasticity, the temperature of liquids so the yeast could ferment, etc.t. When I decided to go gluten-free, my love for bread quickly faded. I was definitely bitter. I rarely baked anymore. Baking went from scooping one cup of flour from a container to mixing 5-7 different flours together, keeping my fingers crossed that it would turn out and that the $100 I just invested into garbanzo, almond, rice, guar gum, (the list goes on) would not go to waste. I’m gonna be honest, I had very little success.The consistency of the bread was just not the same. It crumbled into pieces when it was cut and tasted overall like a piece of metal. Very sad.It only solidified my thoughts at the time that gluten-free eating was indeed depressing. I decided that this was not helping my attitude towards my new diet and decided to try using some of the already made gluten-free bread. I tried several–and they were the same consistency and taste as mine. They were also $6 a loaf. Now, a gluten-free loaf is not the same size as a normal loaf of bread. Take a normal loaf and cut it in half–that’s the size I would get, for nearly triple the cost of regular bread. On top of that, the meltdown that followed each of these traumatic events was no doubt disturbing to my poor husband, who on top of dealing with me had to deal with literally no bread in the house. I finally just stopped buying bread and proceeded life without the hearty, comfort I had grown up eating. Several months later I stumbled upon a sale on Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Bread. For those of you who aren’t gluten-free or used to purchasing organic, Bob’s Red Mill is known for it’s gluten-free products. Long story short, I got over my frustration with bread, and returned to “the dark side” and tried one more time. Much to my surprise, I had finally made my first successful gluten-free bread. It has probably been hard for most of you to relate to this post. I apologize for ranting and raving. But there is meaning in this post for all of us–don’t give up. We’ve all been through something like this. That new recipe that looked amazing in the magazine and when served for dinner was an utter disappointment( Plus–It never looks the same as the picture.) The cookie dough that turns out too runny or vice versa. The list could go on. Don’t let one or two or even three bad experiences frustrate you. Keep your chin up!

Image

Leave a Reply

